What I’ve Been Up To…

AN UPDATE:  I’ve been a little MIA lately, I apologize.  School has been busy and honestly, I haven’t been creating many new recipes, but mostly sticking to old favorites.  This post will be a mishmash of some recent meals of previous recipes and new found snacks, as well as some life updates!

Dinners

Tilapia, Broccoli, Brown Rice

This is my favorite Chipotle Lime Tilapia recipe!  This day I actually let the tilapia loins marinate in the lime juice and seasonings for a few hours before baking.  The result was more saucy than the usual dry rubbed recipe.  YUM (Steamed broccoli and brown rice as sides.)

Chicken, Mixed Veggies, Baked Sweet Potato

 This is a meal I made with boiled chicken, I had prepped an entire pound!  To make the chicken I seasoned tenderloins with Mrs. Dash Chicken seasoning (Check out my list of Favorite Things!).  Then placed the chicken tenderloins in a pot with 4 cups of water.  I brought the water to a boil and then simmered the tenderloins for probably 25-30 minutes or until they were 165 degrees on the inside.  Then I removed the chicken and used the leftover broth to make my quinoa!  I just followed the package directions and it was done really quickly because the water was already boiling.  Two birds with one stone!

Lasagna in a Spaghetti Squash Boat

 This is a spin on my Spaghetti Squash Lasagna that I actually baked in the squash!  First, I baked the squash like normal and scraped out the insides to make the “spaghetti.” I put the empty shell in my little Le Creuset dish and placed a little less of the squash than was originally in the half back in the shell. I layered on cottage cheese, cooked ground turkey, sauce, and some parmesan!
Spaghetti Squash Bake

Another variation on the lasagna but this time using peas on top!  I just love to use this recipe because it’s so easy and fun to change it up!

Breakfast

Protein Pancakes

I made my second recipe of protein pancakes.  This time I used 1 scoop of Optimum Nutrition Premium Hydrowhey in vanilla, 3 egg whites, 1 Tablespoon Almond Milk, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 2 Tablespoons oat flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.  I blended the ingredients in my little single serving blender I use for my smoothies!  I cooked them on a stovetop like regular pancakes on low heat with a little olive oil spray.  Then I served them with a mashed banana and a couple dark chocolate chips!  These were a little fluffier than my Chai Pancakes, but equally as yummy!

Daytime Snacks

Banana, Almond Butter, Dark Chocolate I’ve been struggling with binge eating unhealthy snacks, so I came up with a couple tasty alternatives to my bane, Honey Mustard Wheat Thins… I love the combo of banana with almond butter or peanut butter and a few dark chocolate chips, especially if I have some fat left to get into my macros!

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Apple Dip

 This one was amazing!  I sliced up a Honeycrisp apple and dipped it in 1/2 Cup Chobani plain greek yogurt, 1 Tablespoon peanut butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Tons of protein and yumminess!

Nighttime Casein Treats

Casein Dark Chocolate Skinny Pop

 I’ve recently discovered Skinny Pop.  It’s popcorn without all the butter flavorings and salt that most microwave varieties contain.  It’s only 39 calories per cup so I don’t feel too guilty about snacking on it.  One night I mixed my favorite casein powder (Find it on The Goods!) with a little almond milk, a couple dark chocolate chips, and of course, CINNAMON AND NUTMEG!  I put those two on almost everything!  I mixed the ingredients up and microwaved the mixture so the chocolate chips would melt and then folded some of the Skinny Pop into it!  I threw in a couple almonds too!!

Casein Mug Cake

 For this lovely casein microwave mug cake, I mixed 3 egg whites, 1 scoop of chocolate casein, a couple dark chocolate chips, 1/8 teaspoon baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a mug.  Then I just baked it for about 2 minutes and it rose to be this airy chocolately delight!  Make sure you keep an eye on it in the microwave because it has a tendency to go overboard!

#FitFam

Since my last blog post, I have made some changes in my social media habits.  I decided to leave the Facebook community after receiving a lot of, what I interpreted as, negative feedback regarding my progress.  Things were said along the lines of “friends” preferring how I looked before and how I was causing them to be concerned about my health.  These comments were very hurtful, as I have been working so hard, and I took them all to heart.  I am proud of my progress and excited about completing my goals, so I did not understand why my “friends” were not happy for me too.

Several of my true friends and family helped me see beyond the comments and realize I am working on myself for myself.  To them, I am extremely grateful.  I also found more positivity on Twitter, Instagram, and BodySpace.  I found I have way more in common with people I’ve never met, who share similar health outlooks and interests, than with the people I’ve known all throughout school.  These communities, especially #FITFAM on Twitter, are so supportive and have been really helpful during this past month.  I encourage you to check out the tweets tagged by the community; there are always new recipes, fun workouts, and hilarious gym jokes!

Hopefully in the new year I will be able to get back on track with posting regularly!

Best, Amanda

One thought on “What I’ve Been Up To…

  1. I love your recipe ideas. I wanted you to know the Hershey dark cocoa powder has no fat and few calories. I add it to oatmeal, smoothies, and other things, sweeten with stevia to get my chocolate cravings in. Add it to chocolate casein , cinnamon and some stevia….shake it pour in a mug and heat it up for amazing no guilt cocoa. (-; good luck with future competitions.

Leave a Reply

