Mark and I Get Domestic to Conform to Societal Expectations

IMG_1421I hate showing up to occasions empty handed and usually lean towards bringing a dessert, likely due to my naturally sweet disposition, no HFCS here, folks.  Plus, everyone knows boys’ parents are far more interested in a girl’s baking skills than in her level of education, personal beliefs, and life goals.  “But can she bake?!” they ask their son in desperation.  I decide to roll with Mark’s refrigerator cookie recipe (on a page somewhere in the 800’s).  As a rule, I like to start undertakings like this one with almost not enough time and before checking to make sure I have all the ingredients and tools.  I also enjoy haphazardly taking shortcuts.  On this occasion, I had 3 hours and thought I should take a nap while the dough “chilled” in the freezer for an hour, and because I’m still in the midst of my Stepford wife training, I had neither appropriately themed Easter cookie cutters nor confectioners sugar to prepare icing…  I awoke from my beauty sleep, albeit disappointedly not noticeably more beautiful, to a rock hard sheet of cookie dough which then had to thaw near the preheating oven, used a plastic storage container as a cookie cutter, and due to my lack of time, ran to Target to buy blue and white icing, the demand for every other color was apparently quite high this weekend.  In the end, everyone was sincerely impressed or convincingly feigned approval and my Insta cult followers were equally thrilled at my domestic feat.

IMG_1414 IMG_1415

UMN Cooks Healthy Food

IMG_1421I hate showing up to occasions empty handed and usually lean towards bringing a dessert, likely due to my naturally sweet disposition, no HFCS here, folks.  Plus, everyone knows boys’ parents are far more interested in a girl’s baking skills than in her level of education, personal beliefs, and life goals.  “But can she bake?!” they ask their son in desperation.  I decide to roll with Mark’s refrigerator cookie recipe (on a page somewhere in the 800’s).  As a rule, I like to start undertakings like this one with almost not enough time and before checking to make sure I have all the ingredients and tools.  I also enjoy haphazardly taking shortcuts.  On this occasion, I had 3 hours and thought I should take a nap while the dough “chilled” in the freezer for an hour, and because I’m still in the midst of my Stepford wife training, I had neither…

View original post 98 more words

Leave a Reply

